

## The Catafalque United States Capitol

THE CATAFALQUE WAS HASTILY CONSTRUCTED in 1865 to support the casket of Abraham Lincoln while the president's body lay in state in the Rotunda. The catafalque has since been used for all those who have lain in state in the U.S. Capitol, as listed below. When not in use, the catafalque is on view in a specially constructed display area in Exhibition Hall in the U.S. Capitol Visitor Center.

No law, written rule or regulation specifies who may lie in state; use of the Rotunda is controlled by concurrent action of the U.S. House of Representatives and the Senate. Any person who has rendered distinguished service to the nation may lie in state if the family so wishes and Congress approves. In the case of unknown soldiers, the president or the appropriate branch of the armed forces initiates the action.

The catafalque is a simple bier of rough pine boards nailed together and covered with black cloth. Although the base and platform have occasionally been altered to accommodate the larger size of modern coffins and for the ease of the attending military personnel, it is basically the same today as it was in Lincoln's time. Presently the catafalque measures 7 feet, 1 inch (216 cm) long; 2 feet, 6 inches (76 cm) wide; and 2 feet (61 cm) high. The attached base is 8 feet, 10 inches (269 cm) long; 4 feet, 3½ inches (131 cm) wide; and 2 inches (5 cm) high. The platform is 11 feet, 4 inches (345.44 cm) long; 6 feet, 9 inches (205.74 cm) wide; and 2½ inches (6.35 cm) high. Although the cloth covering the catafalque has been replaced several times, the style of the drapery is similar to that used in 1865.

Since 1865, the Lincoln catafalque has been used for most of the services in the U.S. Capitol



The catafalque in 2006, after the most recent replacement of its fabric covering.

Rotunda. In the case of the Unknown Soldiers of World War II and the Korean War, an additional catafalque was built and the coffin of each at some point rested on the Lincoln catafalque.

The Lincoln catafalque has not been used for most of those lying in honor: U.S. Capitol Police officers Jacob Chestnut and John Gibson in 1998 and Brian Sicknick in 2021, Rosa Parks in 2005, and Billy Graham in 2018. In 2021, U.S. Capitol Police Officer William Evans became the first person to lay in honor on the Lincoln catafalque.

A list of those who have lain in state, in honor, or in repose, where the catafalque is used for a public viewing outside of the U.S. Capitol, appears on the next page.

January 2025

## Persons Who Have Lain in State, Honor, or Repose on the Catafalque

The location is the U.S. Capitol Rotunda unless otherwise specified.

April 19-21, 1865

Thaddeus Stevens August 13-14, 1868 Salmon P. Chase May 11, 1873 Supreme Court Room, U.S. Capitol March 13, 1874 Charles Sumner Henry Wilson November 25-26, 1875 James A. Garfield September 21-23, 1881 John A. Logan December 30-31, 1886 William McKinley Jr. September 17, 1901 Pierre Charles L'Enfant (re-interment) April 28, 1909 George Dewey January 20, 1917 Unknown Soldier of World War I November 9-11, 1921 Warren G. Harding August 8, 1923 William H. Taft March 11, 1930 John J. Pershing July 18-19, 1948 Robert A. Taft August 2-3, 1953 Unknown Soldiers of World War II and the Korean War May 28-30, 1958 John F. Kennedy November 24-25, 1963 Douglas MacArthur April 8-9, 1964 October 23-25, 1964 Herbert C. Hoover Dwight D. Eisenhower March 30-31, 1969 Everett M. Dirksen September 9-10, 1969 J. Edgar Hoover May 3-4, 1972 Lyndon B. Johnson January 24-25, 1973 Earl Warren July 11-12, 1974 Supreme Court Building Hubert H. Humphrey January 14–15, 1978 Unknown Soldier of the Vietnam Conflict May 25-28, 1984 Claude D. Pepper June 1-2, 1989 Thurgood Marshall Supreme Court Building January 27, 1993

Thurgood Marshall

January 27, 1993

Warren E. Burger

Ronald H. Brown

Supreme Court Building

Supreme Court Building

Supreme Court Building

Department of Commerce Building

William J. Brennan Jr. July 28, 1997 Supreme Court Building Harry A. Blackmun March 8, 1999 Supreme Court Building

Ronald W. Reagan June 9–11, 2004

William Rehnquist September 6–7, 2005 Supreme Court Building Gerald R. Ford Jr. December 30, 2006–

January 2, 2007
Daniel K. Inouye
Antonin Scalia

January 2, 2007
December 20, 2012
February 19, 2016

John S. McCain III

George H.W. Bush

December 3–5, 2018

L.L. B. L.C.

John Paul Stevens July 22, 2019 Supreme Court Building
Elijah Cummings October 24, 2019 Entrance to House Chamber

John R. Lewis July 27, 2020; Rotunda

Ruth Bader Ginsburg

September 23-24, 2020;
Supreme Court Building
September 25, 2020

National Statuary Hall

William F. Evans April 13, 2021

Supreme Court Building

Abraham Lincoln

Robert J. Dole Harry M. Reid Sandra Day O'Connor James Earl Carter, Jr. December 9, 2021 January 12, 2022 December 18, 2023 January 7-9, 2025

Supreme Court Building